Archives

All posts for the month June, 2012

Another Cover Reveal!!

Published June 28, 2012 by crysbookreviews

Set to be released on January 8, 2013! I can’t wait to read this story, it is the second book.

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday!!!!

Published June 27, 2012 by crysbookreviews

When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. But it’s not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she’ll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she’s capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can’t forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.

A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark’s shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate’s Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush saga. From Goodreads.

Why I am waiting for it?

I love the Fallen Angel concepts in books. But this one is really good Jocelyn Davies not only has beautiful covers but she has a great story. The first book was amazing, I couldn’t put it down so I am sure that I won’t be able to put down this book either. I can’t wait to find out what happens with Skye and Asher and everyone else in the book.

Cover Reveal!!

Published June 26, 2012 by crysbookreviews

Kat is a girl who is used to getting—or stealing—everything she wants. But telling the truth to the boy she likes? Now that’s a cat of a different color.

When Kat’s on-again off-again boyfriend, Hale, suddenly inherits his family’s billion dollar company, Kat gets a tip-off that the will is a fake. Trapped between a rock and a hard place, how can she tell Hale that he might be living a lie?

Critics and fans alike have fallen for Heist Society (no conning necessary). With more mystery, non-stop action, romance and humor, this third novel in the hit series is just as irresistible. From Goodreads. This book will be release on February 5th, 2013.

 

Scheduled to be released on February 12, 2013

 

Scheduled to be released on February 12, 2013.

Awry by Chelsea Fine (The Archers of Avalon #2)

Published June 25, 2012 by crysbookreviews

Image

Awry by Chelsea Fine (The Archers of Avalon #2)

Sometimes love is meant to be. But sometimes love…is the death of you….

Seventeen-year-old Scarlet has just died. Only, dying isn’t unusual for a girl under a centuries old curse that left her semi-immortal.

This time, though, she comes back to her current life instead of awaking in a new one, and she realizes the curse is changing. Together with the immortal Archer brothers, Scarlet must piece together her life and try to break the curse before her impending death comes again. From Goodreads.

Just when I didn’t think the story could get any better, it did. Chelsea Fine managed to make something unbelievable to completely believable. I loved how in between chapters, the older original story was told. How Scarlet, Tristan, and Gabriel all met, how Gabriel and Scarlet became engaged and most importantly how they all got cursed.

The ending to Anew had me so upset so when Awry started I was prepared to be upset again, of course when the beginning was completely different then I thought it was going to be, I was ecstatic. I still can’t get enough of the love triangle but it just keeps getting more and more tangled now. I loved how Heather and Scarlet’s friendship grew more because she finally tells her everything. Most people would think she is crazy but not Heather, she supports her completely. In every decision that she made.

There were so many secrets that came out in the book, especially about Raven and Laura, Scarlet’s guardian. I loved every page in this book, not a single one was I even slightly bored in. I can’t wait for the 3rd book to come out.

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Anew by Chelsea Fine (The Archers of Avalon #1)

Published June 25, 2012 by crysbookreviews

Image

Anew by Chelsea Fine (The Archers of Avalon #1)

Two years ago, Scarlet awoke in the forest alone, afraid, and unable to remember anything. Lost and confused, her life was a mystery…until she met a boy with a familiar voice.

Gabriel Archer has a voice from her past, and Scarlet’s determined to remember why. She immerses herself in his life only to discover he has a brother he’s kept hidden from her: Tristan Archer.

Upon meeting Tristan, Scarlet’s world becomes even more muddled. While she’s instinctively drawn to Gabriel, she’s impossibly drawn to Tristan–and confused out of her mind. As she tries to piece together her history Scarlet realizes her past…might just be the death of her. From Goodreads.

Amnesia, love, curses and immortality all wrapped into one book? Awesome. I loved how feisty Scarlet was and how even though she couldn’t remember her past at all; she gets a best friend in Avalon that is amazing. She makes sure that Scarlet is never a total fashion disaster and she is willing to stick by her when her boyfriend Gabriel is thought to be doing something shady.

Of course it was not Gabriel but it was Tristan, his twin. I don’t want to give away too much but this book was the first in the trilogy and it doesn’t disappoint. I loved how Scarlet wasn’t willing to just sit around and do nothing when she knew that she could find a way out of the curse. I like how Gabriel tries so hard to be what Scarlet wants and needs but with Tristan in the background it is hard for him.

I can’t possibly see how this love triangle will work out but you never know Chelsea is an amazing writer so I am sure there will be some twists and turns in the last book of the series that will make (hopefully) everything work out. I am sure not everyone will get a happy ending but you never know. Maybe they will. I hope they all do at least.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Waiting on Wednesday!!!!

Published June 20, 2012 by crysbookreviews

Waiting on Wednesday!

Spark By Brigid Kemmerer

Gabriel Merrick plays with fire. Literally.

Sometimes he can even control it. And sometimes he can’t. Like the fire that killed his parents.

Gabriel has always had his brothers to rely on, especially his twin, Nick. But when an arsonist starts wreaking havoc on their town, all the signs point to Gabriel. Only he’s not doing it.

More than Gabriel’s pride is at stake — this could cost him his family, maybe his life. And no one seems to hear him. Except a shy sophomore named Layne, a brainiac who dresses in turtlenecks and jeans and keeps him totally off balance. Layne understands family problems, and she understands secrets. She has a few of her own.

Gabriel can’t let her guess about his brothers, about his abilities, about the danger that’s right at his heels. But there are some risks he can’t help taking.

The fuse is lit…From Goodreads.

Why I am waiting for it?

If you have read the novella and the first book you would know why I can’t wait to read this book. But if you haven’t read those, I definitely recommend reading those two first and then waiting impatiently alongside me for this book in the series to come out. It releases on August 28. It’s not too far away but I wish I had it already.